2020 Awards

Grand Jury Prize Winners

Best Feature Film – Collision
Best Short Film – Drama – The Bus to Birra Birra
Best Short Film – Comedy – Sofa Queen
Best Short Film – Horror – Stew
Best Short Film – Experimental/Arthouse – Kiko’s Saints
Best Documentary Feature Film – Comfort Farms
Best Documentary Short Film – Jessyca
Music Video – Nice Shoes
Best Director, Feature Film – Mehdi Avaz, Collision
Best Director, Short Film – TJ Power, The Bus to Birra Birra

Best Actress in a Lead Role – Camille Calvin, Desire Lines
Best Actor in a Lead Role – Doug Burch, DOUG
Best Actress in a Supporting Role – Cecilie Stenspil, Collision
Best Actor in a Supporting Role – Nigel Lysaght, Desire Lines
Best Performance by an Ensemble Cast – Life’s A Bitch And Then One Kills You
Best Screenplay – Patrick Connolly & Nigel Lysaght, Desire Lines
Best Cinematography, Feature Film – Jonathan Latona, DOUG
Best Art Direction/Production Design – Gaëlle Usandivaras, Kiko’s Saints
Best Screenplay (Unproduced) – The Loser’s Club by Jonathan Turner

Audience Award Winners

Audience Award, Feature Film – DOUG;   Lupe
Audience Award, Short Film – The Squirrels in the Attic
Audience Award, Documentary Film – Starting at Zero: Reimagining Education in America

Filmmakers Award Winners

Outstanding Short Film – Drama – Kama’āina (Child of the Land)
Outstanding Short Film – Comedy – Grief Vigilantes
Outstanding Short Film – Horror – Far Gone
Outstanding Short Film – Experimental/Arthouse – His Mother
Outstanding Directors – Kimi Howl Lee, Kama’āina (Child of the Land); Paul Maziere, Joseph Turns 42 (Or the Inconsistency of Wonders); Samuël L. Jodry, Bengal (or before happiness strikes)
Outstanding Screenplay – TJ Power, The Bus to Birra Birra
Outstanding Acting, Cast – Grief Vigilantes, Sofa Queen
Outstanding Acting, Individual – Elizabeth Blackmore, The Bus to Birra Birra; Malia Kamalani Soon, Kama’āina (Child of the Land); Nikki James, Sofa Queen
Outstanding Cinematography – Caroline Le Hello, Kiko’s Saints

Programmer’s Award Winners

Exceptional Films: Fantasmas (Ghosts), First States, Micky

Prize Definitions/Explanations

Grand Jury Prizes – determined by the festival’s official selection committee.
Audience Awards – determined by highly scientific instruments placed throughout the theater to determine audience satisfaction.
Filmmakers Awards – given only to short films, these are determined by a panel of fifteen filmmakers whose films have been Official Selections previous years.
Programmer’s Prize – given to film(s) that festival programmer Jeff Howard cannot bear to see go without an award. These are generally films that were runners-up in a bunch of categories and their general greatness deserves an award.

Source: FILA

Leave a Reply